Hello World.

My name is Al, and I like to write. I have lots of ideas just waiting to get out and every day is a frustration – there are just not enough hours in the day.

Two years ago, I had the opportunity to take a short break from work (Ok, Ok, I was in no rush to return to the rat-race) and I sat down, bored, and cranked out the roughs for three books of a hopeful five part story. The words just fell from my hands. I was so excited. It was exceptionally addictive. It was love.

I had to return to work, and over the next year I polished up the first story in-between the usual barrage of day to day life. Eventually, I was happy and thought, why not, lets try sending it out to an agent, see what happens.

I sent out to about 80 agents. Many didn’t respond, quite a few send the bog standard “Thank you but no thank you.” rejections. However, a few responded very nicely and said that they liked the 50-odd pages I sent to them, however, my work was too niche, that the market was saturated, that they are only taking on very select new authors. So, there were quite a few rejections over the next six months. However, there were enough positive rejections (yes, there is such a thing!) that I was actually quite cheerful about the whole thing.

I also ran into my first scam, but that is for another day.

I stopped writing for a while. Life got in the way, other hobbies, the need to make a monthly salary. Then, for some reason, I pulled out my story and realised that I still liked it. I still wondered if other people might like it. I started to do more research, and I had obtained an IPad with kindle and IBooks. I started to wonder about self-publishing.

I can keep writing and enjoy writing. As I finish a new book idea, I can submit it to paper agents. As it gets rejected (Hey I am a realist), I can at least get it out there where someone will, hopefully, enjoy my writing. Hopefully quite a few someones. Until I try, I will never know. I like it, at least.

I am going to chart my misadventures and thought on this little venture. My goals are to get my work out there, to make a little pocket money, and see where this goes over the next few years.

I hope to publish Black Cat Chronicles : Soul Thief, and the second book, in 2012 along with outlining another unique tale and short story.

Let’s see where this goes.

PS – it is very hard to find suitable images to go with posts when talking about writing. So I shall intersperse my own photos and artwork, just to keep things pretty.

 

